RSS

iPhone sync error: “another sync client is already running”

Wed, Jul 14, 2010

Mac OS X

We tried to sync and restore on iPhone 3G last night to no avail:

“Another sync client is already running”

The fix was a permission change to 777 on the “tmp” folder AND its contents.

The easiest way to access /tmp is to use the “Go To Folder” menu item in the Finder’s Go menu and type in /tmp in the dialog box.

Do a Get Info ( Command-I ) on the tmp folder, and change the permissions to read & write for everyone, AND most importantly (read: it won’t fix it without this step), choose “Apply to enclosed items”.

Fixed the iPhone sync issue immediately.

Share

This post was written by:

- who has written 44 posts on Mac Lab: An Apple Macintosh OS X, Mac & PC Blog.


3 Comments For This Post

  1. J Herbs Says:

    thank you so much this is the only thing that helped me!!

  2. easy e Says:

    I don’t have the option “Sharing & Persmissions”. What gives? This folder is an Alias……?

  3. Barry Bourland Says:

    Do a Get Info on the tmp folder. You will see Sharing & Permissions at the bottom of the window (expand it by clicking the triangle next to it).

Leave a Reply